Key Vocabulary									
seasons	There are four seasons each year, autumn, winter, spring and summer.								
autumn	In autumn, the weather begins to get colder. The leaves start to fall from the trees. The amount of daylight becomes less. This means the daytimes are shorter and the night times are longer.								
winter	In winter, the weather is much colder. Sometimes it is cold enough to freeze, leaving frost and ice on the ground. It sometimes snows. Many trees have bare branches as all their leaves have fallen off. The daytimes are the shortest in the year and the night times are the longest.								
weather	The weather includes the temperature outside, the wind direction and strength, as well as rain, cloud, snow and sun.								
daylight	Daylight is when it is light outside. The amount of daylight changes with each season.								





The Four Seasons

autumn

September October November winter
December
January
February

spring March April May

summer June July August

Daylight hours each month:

Month	Sept	Oct	Nov	Dec	Jan	Feb	Mar	Apr	May	June	July	Aug
Hours of Daylight	13	11	9	8	8	10	12	14	15	16	16	14



